Musica!

by pushxitxallxaway

It has been a while since I’ve posted, but since the last time I’ve come across some music that I’ve fallen in love with. Im one of  those people who judges music based on lyrics and what they make me feel. There could be the worlds most horrible guitar player doing riffs in the background but if the lyrics are good, I doubt I’d even notice. I think I’ve almost always loved music. I remember being little and singing along to whatever my parents had playing in the background. Of course, back then it was The Eagles, Cher, Madonna, Motown, The BeeGees, and Taylor Dane… oddly enough I still love all of the above!

Growing up though, I got into my own groove. I started listening to Bon Jovi, which turned into Kiss, which turned into Korn, which turned into Marilyn Manson…. you get my drift. I stayed there for a long time. Then of course, I went through my ghetto rap phase (glad that didnt last long) and now I find myself liking the one genre of music I said I’d NEVER like!

Country music!

I said it, I like country music. I cant really believe it myself. Im not talking “country music” like Taylor Swift.. Im talking real country music. I’ve found myself head over heals with Lady Antebellum. I love her voice and the way she sings. I cant get enough! I’ve always liked Rascal Flats and that hasnt changed. Their new album has been on repeat in my car for the past few weeks.. obsessed much? Probaby. Zac Brown Band.. Highway 20 Ride.. so good. Miranda Lambert! White Liar is a good one! Jason Aldean and Crazy Town. Here’s a laugher.. Luke Bryan ! He’s got quite the twang but BOY do I love the song Do I? 

Here are some of the lyrics for my favorite songs:

American Honey

She grew up on a side of the road
Where the church bells ring and strong love grows
She grew up good
She grew up slow
Like American honey

Steady as a preacher
Free as a weed
Couldn’t wait to get goin’
But wasn’t quite ready to leave
So innocent, pure and sweet
American honey

There’s a wild, wild whisper
Blowing in the wind
Calling out my name like a long lost friend
Oh I miss those days as the years go by
Oh nothing’s sweeter than summer time
And American honey

Get caught in the race
Of this crazy life
Trying to be everything can make you lose your mind
I just wanna go back in time
To American honey, yea

There’s a wild, wild whisper
Blowing in the wind
Calling out my name like a long lost friend
Oh I miss those days as the years go by
Oh nothing’s sweeter than summer time
And American honey

Gone for so long now
I gotta get back to her somehow
To American honey

Highway 20 Ride

I ride east every other Friday but if i had it my way
The day would not be wasted on this drive
And I want so bad to hold you
Son there’s things I haven’t told you
Your mom and me couldn’t get along

So I’ll drive
And I think about my life
And wonder why, That I slowly die inside
Everytime I turn that truck around, right at the Georgia line and I count the days and the miles back home to you on that Highway 20 ride

A day might come and you’ll realize that if you could see through my eyes
There was no other way to work it out
And a part of you might hate me
But son please don’t mistake me for a man that didnt care at all

And I’ll drive
And I’ll think about my life
And wonder why, That I slowly die inside
Everytime I turn that truck around, right at the Georgia line and I count the days and the miles back home to you on that Highway 20 ride

So when you drive
And the years go flying by
I hope you smile
If I ever cross your mind
It was a pleasure of my life
And I cherished every time
And my whole world
It begins and ends with you
On that Highway 20 ride….

Do I?

Baby what are we becoming
It feels just like we’re always running
Rolling through the motions everyday
I can lean in to hold you, or act like I don’t even know you
Seems like you could care less either way
What happened to that girl I used to know
I just want us back to the way we were before

Do I turn you on at all when I kiss you baby
Does the site of me wanting you drive you crazy
Do I have your love, am I’m still enough
Tell me don’t I, or tell me do I baby
Give you everything that that you ever wanted
Would you rather just turn away and leave me lonely
Do I just need to give up and get on with my life
Baby, do I

Remember when we didn’t have nothing
But a perfect simple kind of loving
Baby those sure were the days
There was a time our love ran wild and free
Now I’m second guessing everything thing I see

Do I turn you on at all when I kiss you baby
Does the site of me wanting you drive you crazy
Do I have your love, am I’m still enough
Tell me don’t I, or tell me do I baby
Give you everything that that you ever wanted
Would you rather just turn away and leave me lonely
Do I just need to give up and get on with my life
Baby, do I

Still give you what you need
Still take your breath away
Light up the spark like I did, baby do I

Do I turn you on at all when I kiss you baby
Does the site of me wanting you drive you crazy
Do I have your love, am I’m still enough
Tell me don’t I, or tell me do I baby
Give you everything that that you ever wanted
Would you rather just turn away and leave me lonely
Do I just need to give up and get on with my life

Tell me baby do I get one more try
Do I, baby do I

😉

