Treasures!

by pushxitxallxaway

It’s no surprise I love thifting. I will hit up garage sales and thrift stores and find records, old books, knick-knacks,  and on occasion furniture that speaks to me. Of course, said furniture has to fit in our postage stamp sized house.. which is rare. Fortunately for me, I found one and I love it. My boyfriend had a liquor cabinet that I hated.. it was grey and mostly glass and it just did not go with our decor in the rest of the house. I decided it had to go, so on the prowl I went. There is a particular thift store I like and saw a cabinet I had liked but it was $45 dollars and I thought it was kind of expensive. I decided to go back and see if it was still there and to haggle the price down if I could. Low and behold it was there and marked down to $15!! I scooped that baby up and made her mine.

This is what it looked like at the thrift store.

image

It was a little dirty and definitely needed a paint job (other than the shitty one a previous owner had applied). I liked that it had a glass top to display Tommy’s shot glass collection and also an enclosed part to hide our booze.. so we dont look like lushes.

It had a really shiny paint on it and a laminate bar.. so I applied a 60 grit sandpaper to the entire cabinet. I then went over that with 120 grit to make it nice and smooth. Next came the paint.. I decided to use flat black paint , since I strongly dislike gloss paint, and I got it at Walmart for around 7 $. It worked like a charm but I had to apply 2 coats to get full coverage.  I also took off the gaudy gold hardware and replaced it with nice brushed nickel knobs. I also had to replace the pressboard backing because the old one was really warped. I painted the plywood and added a nice damask pattern that would be behind the bar. I bought sheets of damask paper and some glue at Hobby Lobby.. simple and quick.. the glue also acts as a seal when applied over the paper, so it wont peel off.

Here are the results!

image

image

I think it looks great with the black table and it fits nicely in the corner against half of the sliding glass door. What do you think? Next up: light fixture. I HATE GOLD!!!

Btw.. I like color, sorry.

