Tender Tennessee Christmas

by pushxitxallxaway

Image

 

I can honestly say, with all sincerity, that I can not wait to move to Tennessee. I cant wait to see this. It hardly snows in Nashville, which is awesome and totally my speed, but it flurries every now and again. I miss that. I miss the changing seasons.. that bundled up on the couch in thick pajamas and big goofy holiday socks watching old Christmas movies kind of winter. I miss seeing the plants shrivel up during the cold season and then blossom back to life when the weather changes. I can not wait to be able to wear scarves and boots and not get strange looks (I do it regardless). I miss small town life.. people actually caring for others.. I cant wait for pumpkin patches and apple orchards and pine tree farms where you can pick out your own tree and chop it down (not that I ever had a real tree growing up and I’ve only gotten real ones since being with Tommy, as he refuses fake trees.. and we got it in the 80 degree Lowes parking lot “Tree Tent”). 

I remember being a kid and feeling that chill in the air, knowing Thanksgiving and Christmas were right around the corner. I knew it was apple season.. which meant fresh apple cider and doughnuts and mom would be making homemade applesauce. It just doesnt feel much like Christmas when it’s December 6th and its nearly 80 degrees. I have the air conditioner on and a tank top. I do my best to make it feel like Christmas inside but the second you step outside you’re instantly reminded that this. just. isnt. Christmas. Maybe for people who grew up in Florida their whole lives and never felt a snowy Christmas dont mind it, they wouldnt know any different. I mind it though.

Image

 

Next year I will get my “proper” Tennessee Christmas:

Come on weatherman
Give us a forecast snowy white
Can’t you hear the prayers
Of every childlike heart tonight?

Rockies are calling, Denver snow falling
Somebody said it’s four feet deep
But it doesn’t matter, give me the laughter
I’m gonna choose to keep

Another tender Tennessee Christmas
The only Christmas for me
Where the love circles around us
Like the gift around our tree

Well I know there’s more snow up in Colorado
Than my roof will ever see
But a tender Tennessee Christmas
Is the only Christmas for me

Every now and then
I get a wanderin’ urge to see
Maybe California
Maybe tinsel town’s for me

There’s a parade there, we’d have it made there
Bring home a tan for New Year’s Eve
Sure sounds exciting, awfully inviting
Still I think I’m gonna keep

Another tender Tennessee Christmas
The only Christmas for me
Where the love circles around us
Like the gifts around our tree

Well they say in L.A., it’s a warm holiday
It’s the only place to be
But a tender Tennessee Christmas
Is the only Christmas for me

Ooh, yeah, yeah
Ohh, you know I wanna be home

Well I know there’s more snow up in Colorado
Than my roof will ever see
But a tender Tennessee Christmas
Is the only Christmas for me
A tender Tennessee Christmas
Is the only Christmas for me

 

